Upcoming and New Releases! (TBR)

Hello everyone! This month is very exciting because so many many authors that I love are releasing books and I can’t wait to get my hands on them! Here are my picks.  Also maybe I could host a bookclub and we could read them together? Let me know 🙂 xx Karla

36470842

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

Synopsis: A powerful story of empathy and friendship from the #1 New York Times Bestselling author of If I Stay.
Around the time that Freya loses her voice while recording her debut album, Harun is making plans to run away from everyone he has ever loved, and Nathaniel is arriving in New York City with a backpack, a desperate plan, and nothing left to lose. When a fateful accident draws these three strangers together, their secrets start to unravel as they begin to understand that the way out of their own loss might just lie in help­ing the others out of theirs.
An emotionally cathartic story of losing love, finding love, and dis­covering the person you are meant to be, I Have Lost My Way is best­selling author Gayle Forman at her finest.

Why I’m excited about it: If you have been around for a while, then you know that Gayle Forman is one of my all-time favourite authors. (It’s a tie between her and Jane Austen). She has a unique way of telling stories that pull at your heartstrings and really get you involved in the stories she tells.  And her writing and characters get tears out of me every time, and I love it.

Release Date: March 27th, 2018

34728667

Children of Blook and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Synopsis:

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.
Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.
Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Why I’m excited: This sounds like a promising series and I heard that the book will be turned into a movie! Also, the cover is gorgeous and it says on it that fans of Leigh Bardugo will like it, so I’m looking forward to seeing the similarities between them as well. Also, I believe the main character is a woman of colour, which, as a Black woman I’m thrilled about!

Release Date: March 6th, 2018

24909347

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Obsidian files #3)

Synopsis:

33590210

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Synopsis (Named an Oprah’s Book Club Selection.)
Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn’t commit. Though fiercely independent, Celestial finds herself bereft and unmoored, taking comfort in Andre, her childhood friend, and best man at their wedding. As Roy’s time in prison passes, she is unable to hold on to the love that has been her center. After five years, Roy’s conviction is suddenly overturned, and he returns to Atlanta ready to resume their life together.

Why I’m excited about it: Umm the real question is: why wouldn’t i be excited about this? I love books that mess my emotions up and this book looks like it will! I can’t wait to read it, also, it’s on Oprah’s Book Club selection and Oprah is basically god herself, so I guess we can trust her judgment.

Release Date: February 6th, 2018

One thought on “Upcoming and New Releases! (TBR)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s