Sleeping Around by Morgan Vega – Book review! 🥰

Hello lovelies!

I hope you are all well. As promised, here is my short review for the wonderful book Sleeping Around by Morgan Vega. You can find my author interview here! I hope you enjoy 🥰

Title: Sleeping Around

Author: Morgan Vega

Synopsis:

Hard-hitting yet humorous, this young adult contemporary following a teen’s transition from foster care to college by debut author Morgan Vega is perfect for fans of What I Carry by Jennifer Longo and Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour.

Foster care always promised her a bed. Now she doesn’t even have that.

Coralee (Corey) Reed can’t wait to trade her current foster house for Harmony Hall, the dorm for music majors. Corey arrives at Borns College with her pawn-shop violin and a borrowed duffle bag, ready to leave her foster care baggage behind. But Corey’s first day on campus starts on a sour note. She runs into her archrival violinist Dylan Mason, then her name’s not on the dorm’s roster. Worst of all, Corey can’t live at Harmony Hall. Period. Because she’s not yet accepted into the music program. Instead, Reslife shoves her into a temporary triple with two unsuspecting (and beyond different) roommates. When one of her roommates does the unforgivable, Corey starts sleeping around campus—from air mattresses to random couches—while waiting for an open room. But how can she beat Dylan for first chair if she can’t keep her eyes open? How can she pass her finals without a good night’s sleep? Will college, the place she thought would launch her dreams of becoming a professional violinist, be the place her dreams end all too soon?


4 stars: Aphrodite – Goddess of love and beauty. That means that I really liked the book, whether it was the writing style, plot or characters. It means it was an amazing book that I would completely recommend for the beautiful piece of art it is. However the book is not a Persephone because something keeps it from making it one of my favourite book ever.

An emotional and honest journey of identity, belonging and ultimately: love

One of the best things about this book were the characters. They all felt unique and they were interesting in their own way, but most importantly they were flawed. All of them. And it was so refreshing!! Most of the characters made mistakes and were far from perfect but they all tried and that’s what matters. This book taught me that everyone deserves a second chance.

The story starts less than ideally for the main character Corey (Coralee) who’s trying to escape foster care and taking control over her life. Of course, nothing goes as expected and I have to say some moments were hard to read. Not because of the way they were told or mentioned but because of the way Corey felt. The author managed to capture her feelings perfectly and made us root and care for her. I got teary-eyed so many times and I really applaud the writing style for that.

I think this was my first time reading about a character that grew up in foster care and it gave me a better understanding of how the system works and the many ways it is broken. I will definitely do some research after reading this because it is such an important issue and it is too often erased from stories.

I think the author also showed in an accurate and honest way the anxiety and fear of the first year of college. I could relate to so many of Corey’s thoughts and fears and it was bittersweet. Nothing was romanticized and I felt so sorry for everything she went through. College is an adjustment.

An aspect I also loved was how important music was!! I recently started learning guitar and I loved how driven and ambitious Corey was with her music career. How much she cared and was willing to put in the work. I loved all the nods to music and the overall atmosphere. It made me want to see a concert and I did look up most of the songs mentioned in the book! The definitions of musical terms and the funny commentary of them were my favorite part of the chapters and I sincerely enjoyed that little detail.
Talking about details, this is what made the story as great as it was!! The Sunday pancakes, eating dessert as a meal, Dylan calling her buttercup and so many elements made this story very immersive and “real”. The romance made me swoon and I loved how the topic of bisexuality was briefly mentioned. The book raises many aspects but simply mentions them, and it is always done in a respectful way.
Sleeping Around was such an enjoyable read and I cannot recommend it enough!

Huge thank you to the author for reaching out to me and providing me an eArc for this wonderful story!

3 thoughts on “Sleeping Around by Morgan Vega – Book review! 🥰

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s