Book Review · LGBTQ+ Books

ARC Review – Everything For You by Chloe Liese or one of the most heartfelt, honest and loving romance books ever

Hello lovelies!

Today I’m reviewing one of my favourite romance books ever!

Title: Everything For You (Bergman Brothers #5)

Synopsis:

Gavin

We’ve been teammates for two years, but it feels like a lifetime that Oliver Bergman’s been on my last nerve. A demanding captain and veteran player, I’m feared and friendless, while he’s the beloved rising star, all sunshine smiles and upbeat team spirit. To make matters worse, he’s obscenely attractive. In short: he’s genetically designed to get under my skin.

Avoiding Oliver has been my survival tactic on and off the field. But when Coach drops the bomb that we’re now co-captains, avoiding him becomes impossible, and keeping the truth from him–let alone my distance–is harder than ever.

Oliver

Life was great until soccer legend Gavin Hayes joined the team and proved he’s nothing like the guy I grew up idolizing. Instead, he’s a giant–albeit gorgeous–grump who lives to rain on my parade. I’ve sworn off pranks since entering the public eye, so rather than settle our differences the Bergman way, I’ve had to settle for killing Gavin with kindness. There’s just one problem: killing him with kindness is killing me.

To make matters worse, Coach gives us an ultimatum: put an end to our enmity or say goodbye to being captains. I’m prepared to be miserable while we meet her demands and make nice, but the last thing I expect is to discover an explosive attraction we can’t help but act on, and worse yet, to realize the man hiding beneath Gavin’s gruff exterior is all I’ve ever wanted.

About: Everything for You is a grumpy-sunshine, enemies-to-lovers, age gap sports romance about an upbeat rising soccer star with anxiety and his curmudgeonly veteran teammate who lives with chronic pain. Complete with nosy senior citizens, nosier siblings, and a meddling coach, this standalone slow burn is the fifth in a series of novels about a Swedish-American family of five brothers, two sisters, and their wild adventures as they each find happily ever after.

5 stars: Persephone – Queen of the Underworld and Goddess of Spring. Persephone is my favourite goddess because she is full of contradictions – she represents both strength as queen of the underworld and a softness as a floral maiden. She teaches me how it’s okay to be both. If Persephone appears, that means that the book was one of the best books I’ve ever read, that it holds a particular place in my heart and that it is now part of my favourite books ever.

Iris– Goddess of rainbows. Nothing new here, we all know that rainbows represent the LGBTQ+ community so this Goddess will be featured whenever a queer relationship or character appears.

This is not so much a review as a love letter to Chloe Liese’s unique writing style.
Picking up a book by Chloe Liese is like putting a balm over a wound. Nothing compares to the absolute sense of warmth and soothing of reading about the Bergmans and their journey of finding love.

I loved every single book in the series and this story was no exception.

The book starts with two characters who are seemingly at odds (perfect way of writing the grump/sunshine trope) but who unknowingly share similarities; they both want to feel love but are too afraid to be hurt again. I loved reading about them both finally being vulnerable, seeing their own flaws and accepting growth in order to accept and love each other.

The dual point of view in romance books is my kryptonite and both Oliver and Gavin and their lustful, angsty thoughts were delectable to read about! I loved how they built and worked on intimacy until the moment they gave in and finally admitted their love. I couldn’t help smiling, squealing and swooning.

I also appreciated how deep and thoughtful the conversations in the book were, while still maintaining that joyful, light aura. For example, there are discussions on romance novels and what they make you feel and I related so hard to what was being said. I feel like the author accomplished exactly what she was talking about in that regard.

And one thing I admire in these books is the way the author kindly treats so many topics in such a respectful and beautiful way. I think the anxiety rep was extremely well-done and I loved how queer but low-key it was; it wasn’t a big deal and it meant a lot.

After reading this book, it only confirmed how addictive and excellent Chloe Liese’s writing style is. The author’s ability to put words in a coherent and cohesive way to translate deep, precise feelings is a true gift. I knew that I would give this book five stars but the Hamilton references sealed the deal for me. Also I really appreciate and noticed how inclusive the secondary characters were. My heart is warm and full.

Of course, I LOVED reading about the whole Bergman family (Bergman babies and weddings I was so happy) and getting glimpses of all the previous couples.

Read this book for:
⚽️ Sports romance
⚽️Meddling poker and karaoke loving grandpas
⚽️Chronic pain and anxiety rep
⚽️Only one bed trope
⚽️Grump/sunshine dynamic
⚽️Hamilton references!!

Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for this eARC, all opinions are my own!

3 thoughts on “ARC Review – Everything For You by Chloe Liese or one of the most heartfelt, honest and loving romance books ever

  1. “heartfelt, honest and loving”? ah Karla I need this book now!! i loved hearing about how meaningfully themes were tackled in everything for you, as well as the great dual pov! and to top it off there are hamilton references?! so glad that you fell in love with this book, and it truly shows in your lovely review! <33

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww Cherelle, thank you so much! 🤍 It’s always harder to convey why a book is a new favorite and I’m so happy it shows!! This is such a beautiful romance series and I really hope you’ll like it if you pick it up! 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment